Going with the flow

I received an email today that reminded me that I needed to update my blog with a status report. I’m writing from freezing cold Oslo, Norway.
I received my beta results on Monday. My HCG level came in at 146, which the nurse says is good. HOWEVER, as most who are reading this know, it’s not really the first test number that’s important, it’s the second number. And I’m not getting a second test any time soon. My doctor thinks this is a terrible idea, but I’m on vacation. In Norway!! The thought of finding a clinic, explaining my situation, trying to get them to give me a HCG and progesterone test and then send the results to my doctor in the states never mind trying to pay for this all is horrifying to me. So, Mr. Z and I have decided to wait it out. We’re going to just hang out and enjoy our vacation and get the tests done when we get home. This means that anything can happen between now and then. If my hormone levels drop and I don’t have my meds adjusted I could miscarry before I get home. That’s the biggest concern probably. But I’ve decided to let my body do its thing and hope for the best. Maybe that’s a bit naive after all of our hard work and money, but completely at peace with our decision.
If it turns out to be positive and everything works out, then great! But if it doesn’t work out, at least I know I CAN get pregnant and I’ll know what it takes to get there again. I feel confident knowing that what’s supposed to happen will.

7 thoughts on “Going with the flow

  1. Congrats! I also did a FET and I do not take any meds at all and I am still pregnant 🙂 or I take blood thinning meds but that is it. Usually in Sweden you get a natural FET if you do not have any issues like low progesteron or something. I even asked for progesteron and they did tell me that they did not encourage that at all. I think everything will be fine! Have a nice time in Oslo!

      • Oh that is where I live! If you have time go out to Djurgården and rosendalsträdgård. It is beutiful and the have this cafe there with great food and desserts!! And maybe go to Skansen and a trip to Fjäderholmarna is also nice, it is in the archipellago but real close to stockholm. There you can get really nice seafood. Have a nice trip!!

      • We have three full days there and I hadn’t any idea yet what we were going to do. Thanks for the ideas! I’ll look into all of them. I hope it’s a bit warmer there!

      • Well it is not so warm at all here. But the sun is shining 🙂 and there is no snow! Oh one more tip, go to the old town too, there they got great icecream in “home made” waffle cones, you can actually see how the are made. Really yummy!

Leave a comment